top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Planning to file, but really concerned about the future...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Planning to file, but really concerned about the future...

Hi, I'm new to all this and my husband and I are planning to file in a couple of months. The biggest concern I have about the whole process is how it will affect future employment opportunities for me.

I got really worried when I visited Dave Ramsey's site and he pointed out that bankruptcy stays with you FOREVER since most employers ask you directly on the application if you have ever filed. I came here and was somewhat relieved that most people take him with a grain of salt, but I have seen this on employment applications.

I was wondering if there was anyone here that is 10 years beyond their BK and have you experienced any problems with getting a job after that point?

Thanks.
    Filed Chapter 7 Oct. 2010
    Discharged Jan. 21, 2011

In all of the jobs I have applied to throughout the years I never once had to answer a question about bankruptcy. From what I know, BK can affect your ability to get a job in the financial sector, if you will handle money or if you need a high security clearance. However, I have read on this forum that people were still able to get these types of jobs. Hope this helps.
    Filed Chapter 7 on July 30, 2010
    341 scheduled for August 26, 2010 - Done! - Report of No Distribution
    Discharged!!! - November 15, 2010

Comment

Thank you for asking this! I was just going to ask the same thing.
      It's good to know that, after my husband graduates college, he'll still be able to get a good job.

Comment

I filed in 98' and got an accounting job within the first 2 years. BK was a lot less appealing and done back then. You will be fine I think.
        Filed Chapter 7 October 5, 2010 -341 held Nov. 8, 2010- Report of No Distribution Nov. 12th, 2010- Discharged 1-10-2011 Closed 1-28-2011

Comment